About Us

The New England Federation of Humane Societies (NEFHS) is a dynamic and active organization that provides information and education to animal welfare workers in our region and beyond.  Our Board of Directors and Advisory Council members represent a wide variety of animal welfare organizations across New England, from large shelters to small rescues, and everything in between.

Each year in April, the NEFHS holds the largest animal welfare conference in New England.  This event regularly attracts attendees from within and outside of the region, as well as nationally known speakers.  Throughout the year, we also host outreach events on a variety of topics across New England. With simple respect for our animal friends and the field of animal welfare, only vegetarian and vegan food are provided at all NEFHS events.

The NEFHS is an all-volunteer organization.  Board and Advisory members perform all of the duties necessary to promote and maintain the organization, as well as to plan and run events and trainings.

Board members commit to four-year terms and have the dedication and passion to help the organization continue to grow and improve.  Advisory Council members provide special expertise, experience, or perspectives. They offer advice and counsel, but hold no voting privileges on the Board. They are appointed for a one-year term by the Board of Directors.

Click here if you are interested in learning more about becoming a Board Director or an Advisory Council member or you can complete and submit our online form.  Or, if you would like more information, please contact us.


PresidentCaitlin Tomlinson: Animal Rescue League of Boston, MA
1st Vice President: Lindsay Hamrick: Humane Society of the US, NH
2nd Vice President: Abigail Smith: Animal Welfare Society, ME
Treasurer: Katie Hansberry: Humane Society of the U.S., Portland, ME
SecretaryJennifer Adams: Connecticut Humane Society, CT


Crystal ArnottLowell Humane Society, Lowell, MA
Kerry Garofano: Connecticut Humane Society, CT
Stephanie Magnarelli: Animal Rescue League of NH
Kara Montalbano: Potter League for Animals, RI
Sheila Ryan: New Hampshire SPCA, NH
Kiersten Scarpati: Ethos | VONT Digital Design & Marketing and Animal Refuge League of Greater Portland, ME
Megan Talbert: Dakin Humane Society, MA

Advisory Council:

Amanda Audia: Mars Veterinary Health, CT
Alison Bremmer: MSPCA at Nevins Farm, MA
Dana Falsetta: Animal Welfare Society, ME
Vanessa Gruden: Ferret Association of CT
Carrie Hamel: Upper Valley Humane Society, NH
Emily Kerylow: Monadnock Humane Society, NH
Devon Krusko: Red Rover, VT
Cary Payton: Massachusetts Animal Fund, MA
Hannah Orenstein: Connecticut Humane Society, CT
Stacey Price: Dakin Humane Society, MA
Steph Schieni: Lowell Humane Society, MA
Brad Shear: Potter League for Animals, RI




Sign Up for our Email Newsletter